H.R. 3593, The DOE Science for the Future Act

June 28, 2021

Bill Status: Passed by House
Last Action: July 12, 2021



H.R. 3593, the DOE Science for the Future Act



The bill provides comprehensive policy guidance and funding authorization for the major research programs stewarded by the Department of Energy’s (DOE) Office of Science. These programs include research on materials and chemical science, bioscience, climate science, fusion energy, scientific computing, and high energy and nuclear physics. The Department of Energy Science for the Future Act also offers guidance for the Office of Science’s Workforce Development for Teachers and Scientists program to broaden participation by underrepresented groups in STEM programs supported by DOE.

DOE Science for the Future Act - Fact Sheet


Follow the bill's progress here.




American Association for the Advancement of Science

American Association of Physicists in Medicine

American Association of Physics Teachers

American Astronomical Society

American Chemical Society

American Crystallographic Association

American Geophysical Union

American Geosciences Institute

American Institute of Physics

American Mathematical Society

American Nuclear Society

American Physical Society

Applied Physics Laboratory, University of Washington 

American Society for Engineering Education

American Society of Agronomy

Acoustical Society of America (ASA)

American Society of Mechanical Engineers

American Society for Microbiology 

American Society of Plant Biologists

American Vacuum Society

Arizona State University

Association of American Universities

Association of Public and Land-grant Universities

AVS – The Society for Science and Technology of Materials, Interfaces, and Processing


Binghamton University

Biophysical Society

Bipartisan Policy Center

Boston University

Case Western Reserve University

Citizens for Responsible Energy Solutions (CRES)

City College of CUNY

ClearPath Action

Clemson University

Coalition for Academic Scientific Computation (CASC)

Consortium for Ocean Leadership

Columbia University

Computing Research Association

Council of Scientific Society Presidents

Cornell University

Cray Inc.

Crop Science Society of America

Duke University

The Ecological Society of America

Florida State University

Energy Sciences Coalition

Environmental Defense Fund

Fusion Industry Association 

Fusion Power Associates

General Atomics

Geological Society of America

George Mason University

Georgia Institute of Technology

Harvard University

Health Physics Society



Iowa State University

Jefferson Science Associates, LLC

Krell Institute

Lehigh University

Long Island University

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Materials Research Society

Michigan State University

Michigan Technological University

New York University

Northeastern University

Northern Illinois University

Northwestern University

Oak Ridge Associated Universities (ORAU)

OSA—The Optical Society

Pace University

Penn State University

Princeton University

Purdue University

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics

Soil Science Society of America

South Dakota School of Mines

Southeastern Universities Research Association


Stanford University

Stony Brook University

Tech-X Corporation

The Honorable Paul M. Dabbar, Former Under Secretary for Science, U.S. Department of Energy

South Dakota Science and Technology Authority

The Ohio State University

University of California System

University of Chicago

University of Colorado Boulder

University of Delaware

University of Illinois System

University of Iowa

University of Maryland, College Park

University of Michigan

University of Missouri System

University of Nebraska

University of North Texas

University of Oklahoma

University of Pennsylvania

University of Rochester

University of Southern California

University of Tennessee

University of Texas at Austin

University of Virginia

University of Wisconsin-Madison 

U.S. Chamber of Commerce

Vanderbilt University

Washington State University

West Virginia University