Washington D.C. – Today, following an announcement by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) that it is denying waivers of the Renewable Fuel Standard (RFS), Science, Space, and Technology Committee Chairman Ralph Hall (R-TX), Vice Chairman Jim Sensenbrenner (R-WI), and Energy and Environment Subcommittee Chairman Andy Harris (R-MD) released the following joint statement:

“The decision by EPA Administrator Jackson to deny RFS waiver requests from Governors of eleven states, ranging from Texas to Maryland, was short-sighted and alarming.   To ignore the severe economic harm of the RFS requirements, particularly when forced on drought-stricken regions of the country, is difficult to accept. The RFS hurts agriculture, jeopardizing the economies of several States and regions.

“Yet again, the Administration turns a blind eye to bipartisan calls for relief and instead drives food prices higher, forces engine-damaging ethanol blends into commerce, and puts the American consumer last.”