Washington, D.C. – House Science, Space, and Technology Committee Chairman Lamar Smith (R-Texas) released the following statement congratulating students chosen from around the country to participate in the 2014-2015 NASA Student Launch Challenge:

Chairman Smith: “Congratulations to the students chosen to participate in this competition. NASA’s education and public outreach is an important element of STEM education. These are the students we must inspire to pursue STEM careers so they can help us blaze the trail to the next frontier."

NASA has selected eight teams from middle and high schools across the country to participate in the 2014-2015 competition organized by NASA’s Marshall Space Flight Center in Huntsville, Alabama, which will take place April 7-12, 2015.

Teams that participating in the competition must design, build and launch a reusable rocket, with a scientific or engineering payload, capable of reaching an altitude of one mile.

The 2014-2015 middle and high school teams who will compete are:

  • Durham Area Rocketry, Durham, North Carolina
  • Krueger Middle School, San Antonio, Texas
  • Madison West High School (Land Imaging), Madison, Wisconsin
  • Madison West High School (Muons), Madison, Wisconsin
  • Plantation High School, Plantation, Florida
  • Spring Grove High School, Spring Grove, Pennsylvania
  • St. Vincent-St. Mary High School, Akron, Ohio
  • Victory Christian Center School, Charlotte, North Carolina

NASA Student Launch is open to middle and high school students, and university and college students. The program is intended to advance education in science, technology, engineering and math and expose students to careers in aeronautics and aerospace.