Dr. Raymond Orbach
Under Secretary for Science at DOE, where he directs the Office of Science, serves as the Secretary’s science policy advisor for
all departmental programs, and oversees DOE’s 17 national laboratories and education activities

Mr. C. H. “Bud” Albright Jr.
Under Secretary of Energy at DOE, where he oversees the Energy and Environment programs which include research and development efforts in the offices of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, Fossil Energy, Nuclear Energy, Electricity Delivery and Energy Reliability, among others

Mr. Mark Gaffigan
Acting Director in the Government Accountability Office, Natural Resources and Environment Team, which is responsible for recently produced reports on DOE funding for advanced energy technologies, the hydrogen fuel initiative, oil production shortages, and the oil and natural gas research program

Dr. Arthur Bienenstock
President of the American Physical Society, which tracks funding for basic research at DOE, among other agencies, and has also produced several reports on applied energy research in recent years. Dr. Bienenstock is also a Professor of Physics as well as the Special Assistant to the President for Federal Research Policy at Stanford University.

Department of Energy Budget Request for Fiscal Year 2009

Hearing Charter