Skip to primary navigation Skip to content
January 11, 2019

Chairwoman Johnson Introduces National Gun Violence Research Act

(Washington, DC) –  Last night, Chairwoman Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX) introduced H.R. 435, the “National Gun Violence Research Act.” If enacted, H.R. 435 would authorize a national gun violence research program overseen by the Office of Science and Technology Policy and carried out by the National Science Foundation, National Institute of Standards and Technology, the Department of Health and Human Services, and the Department of Justice. The national research program would examine the nature, causes, consequences, and prevention of violence and unintended injury and death relating to gun ownership, use, and trafficking of firearms.

Chairwoman Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX) released the following statement.

“It is truly bewildering that Congress has failed in its duty to address the threat of gun violence in our country. Gun violence is both a public health crisis and a daunting criminal justice challenge. It is past time for action to address it; and one important component for effective action is understanding the problem. We need more research to understand the impact of policies like assault weapons bans, concealed-carry laws, and minimum age requirements on outcomes like suicide, violent crime, and unintended injury and death.

“The National Gun Violence Research Act enables a whole-of-government approach to expanding our knowledge-base on the nature, causes, consequences, and prevention of gun violence. If we are to effectively curb the gun violence epidemic in America, we must invest in gun violence research.

“I want to acknowledge the leadership of Chairman Pallone and Chairman Nadler on this issue. Gun violence research is an issue that necessarily spans multiple federal agencies and, therefore, multiple congressional committees. I look forward to working alongside my colleagues in the 116th Congress to advance the field of gun violence research in order to improve the health and welfare of the American public.”

Related Subcommittees