Skip to primary navigation Skip to content
October 15, 2019

Chairwoman Johnson Congratulates Nobel Laureates

(Washington, DC) – Over the last week, the Nobel Prizes in Physics, Chemistry, and Medicine as well as the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences, established in 1968 in memory of Alfred Nobel, were announced. Each year, thousands of nominators submit candidates for the Nobel Prize and winners are announced in October.

The list of Honored Laureates consists of:

Dr. James Peebles, Physics

Dr. Michel Mayor, Physics

Dr. Didier Queloz, Physics

Dr. John Goodenough, Chemistry

Dr. M. Stanley Whittingham, Chemistry

Dr. Akira Yoshino, Chemistry

Dr. William G. Kaelin, Jr., Medicine

Sir Peter J. Ratcliffe, Medicine

Dr. Gregg L. Semenza, Medicine

Dr. Abhijit Banerjee, Economic Sciences

Dr. Esther Duflo, Economic Sciences

Dr. Michael Kremer, Economic Sciences

Chairwoman Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX) made the following statement.

“I am delighted to offer my sincere congratulations to all of this year’s laureates for their outstanding achievements. The Nobel Prize and Prize in Economic Sciences are a tremendous way to honor and praise those who are making advancements in their fields on a global scale. These individuals are helping to pave the way to the future and inspiring the next generation of problem solvers.”