Skip to primary navigation Skip to content
June 19, 2020

Chairwoman Johnson Congratulates Incoming National Science Foundation Director Sethuraman Panchanathan after Senate Confirmation

(Dallas, TX) – Yesterday, Dr. Sethuraman Panchanathan was confirmed by the Senate to serve as the 15th Director of the National Science Foundation (NSF). Dr. Panchanathan was nominated by the Trump Administration in late 2019 to succeed Dr. France Córdova, whose six-year term ended in March.

“I want to congratulate Dr. Sethuraman Panchanathan for his confirmation as the next Director of the National Science Foundation,” said Chairwoman Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX). “At this important moment in the Foundation’s history, we pause to celebrate the past 70 years of transformative discoveries while keeping our eye on the challenges ahead. I have great confidence that Dr. Panchanathan’s proven leadership and vision for disrupting the status quo will help usher in a bright future of scientific breakthroughs for the benefit of the American people. I look forward to working with him to advance the Foundation’s critical research and STEM education mission in the years ahead.”