Skip to primary navigation Skip to content
April 07, 2022

Chairwoman Johnson Congratulates Democratic Science Committee Members Named to the America COMPETES Conference Committee

(Washington, DC) – Today, House Speaker Nancy Pelosi announced names of the Democratic Members of the House who will go to conference with the Senate over the House’s America COMPETES Act of 2022.

“Today we took the next critical step to advance our nation’s competitiveness with the naming of House Members of the Conference Committee,” said Chairwoman Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX). “The COMPETES Act incorporates a series of important Science Committee provisions that, when enacted, will help strengthen the nation’s research and innovation enterprise and help us to both grow and utilize the rich diversity of STEM talent in America. These provisions were built from the ground up with input from the scientific community, academia, industry, and other stakeholders. They will help address the challenges each and every American faces across the country.

“I’m so proud of the work my colleagues and I on the Science Committee have accomplished up to this point, and I am very pleased that we will have strong representation by Science Committee Members on this Conference Committee. I am eager to get to work with our Senate colleagues to forge a strong bipartisan bill that we can get to the President’s desk in short order.”

The Democratic Conference Committee Members from the Committee on Science, Space, and Technology include:

  • Chairwoman Eddie Bernice Johnson of Texas
  • Congresswoman Zoe Lofgren of California
  • Congresswoman Suzanne Bonamici of Oregon
  • Congressman Ami Bera of California
  • Congresswoman Haley Stevens of Michigan
  • Congressman Jamaal Bowman of New York 
  • Congressman Bill Foster of Illinois

Find a full list of the House Conference Committee Democratic Members here


Related Subcommittees