

February 9th, 2015

The Honorable Lamar Smith Chairman, Committee on Science, Space and Technology U.S. House of Representatives 2321 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Steven M. Palazzo Chairman, Subcommittee on Space U.S. House of Representatives 2321 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510 The Honorable Eddie Bernice Johnson Ranking Member, Committee on Science, Space and Technology U.S. House of Representatives 394 Ford House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Donna Edwards Ranking Member, Subcommittee on Space U.S. House of Representatives 394 Ford House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Chairmen Smith and Palazzo and Ranking Members Johnson and Edwards:

On behalf of The Planetary Society, the largest nonprofit space interest group in the world with over 40,000 members, we thank you for your leadership in building a bipartisan consensus in the committee for the NASA Authorization Act of 2015.

NASA is an investment in our nation's future that helps propel our economy and technological edge and stimulates the best and brightest with cutting-edge scientific and technical challenges that will make our nation stronger and more competitive.

NASA's science programs aim to answer fundamental questions about the nature of the universe, the origins of the planets and solar system, and actively pursue answers to profound questions such as whether life has existed elsewhere, perhaps on Mars or maybe Jupiter's moon Europa. These pursuits are important scientifically and inspire the public and the next generation of scientists and engineers that our nation needs to remain competitive.

The Society believes that NASA's planetary science program is a crown jewel of our nation. We are particularly appreciative of the committee's strong support for a healthy and balanced planetary science program. To this end, the society is very supportive of provisions in the bill, especially section 321, which calls on NASA to follow the recommendations from the National Academy of Science's decadal survey for planetary exploration. Section 321 specifies regular opportunities for small, medium and large missions consistent with the report, and establishes a goal to launch a mission to Jupiter's moon Europa by 2021.

Thank you again for your work in crafting the FY2015 NASA Authorization Bill. We look forward to continuing to work with you and other Members of Congress in putting NASA on a solid path toward the future.

Sincerely,

Biel Nye

Bill Nye CEO The Planetary Society

Casey Dreier Director of Advocacy The Planetary Society

PLANETARY.ORG

85 SOUTH GRAND AVENUE PASADENA, CA 91105 USA PHONE: (626) 793-5100 FAX: (626) 793-5528

> COFOUNDERS CARL SAGAN 1934-1996

BRUCE MURRAY 1931-2013

BOARD OF DIRECTORS Chairman of the Board DANIEL T. GERACI Founder & co-CEO E.F. Hutton Holdings Canada Inc.

> President JAMES BELL Professor, School of Earth and Space Exploration, Arizona State University

Vice President HEIDI HAMMEL Executive Vice President, Association of Universities for Research in Astronomy Chief Executive Officer

BILL NYE Science Educator

Cofounde

Secretary C. WALLACE HOOSER Associate Professor of Radiology, University of Texas Southwestern Medical School

> G. SCOTT HUBBARD Professor, Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics, Stanford University

> > Treasurer LON LEVIN SkySevenVentures

ALEXIS LIVANOS Research Professor, Viterbi School of Engineering, University of Southern California

JOHN LOGSDON Professor Emeritus, Space Policy Institute, The George Washington University

BIJAL "BEE" THAKORE Regional Coordinator for Asia Pacific, Space Generation Advisory Council

NEIL deGRASSE TYSON Astrophysicist and Director, Hayden Planetarium, American Museum of Natural History

FILLMORE WOOD Vice President and Regional Counsel, BP, retired

INTERNATIONAL COUNCIL ROGER-MAURICE BONNET Executive Director, International Space Science Institute

YASUNORI MATOGAWA Associate Executive Director, Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency

MAMORU MOHRI Director, National Museum of Emerging Science and Innovation

RISTO PELLINEN Director of Science in Space Research, Finnish Meteorological Institute

ADVISORY COUNCIL

BUZZ ALDRIN BUZZ ALDRIN RICHARD BERENDZEN JACQUES BLAMONT ROBERT. D. BRAUN DAVID BRIN JAMES CANTRELL FRANKLIN CHANG-DIAZ FRANKLIN CHANG-DIAZ GARRY E. HUNT BRUCE JAKOSKY THOMAS D. JONES CHARLES E. KOHLHASE JR. LAURIE LESHIN JON LOMBERG ROSALY LOPES HANS MARK JOHN MINOGUE ROBERT PICARDO JOHN RHYS-DAVIES KIM STANLEY ROBINSION DONNA L. SHIRLEY KEVIN STUBE

