111th Congress Organizational Meeting

2318 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 | Jan 28, 2009 10:00am

Opening Statements

Ranking Member Ralph Hall (R-TX)

Press Release

Rep. Vernon Ehlers Named Vice-Ranking Member


Washington, D.C. - January 17, 2009 – Rep. Ralph Hall (R-TX), Ranking Member of the Science and Technology Committee, today announced Subcommittee Ranking Members and the Committee’s Vice-Ranking Member for the 111th Congress during an organizational meeting of the Republican Caucus.  The positions are as follows:

Rep. Vernon Ehlers (R-MI), Ranking Member of the Subcommittee on Research and Science Education, which oversees issues related to federal science funding and academic research at the National Science Foundation (NSF);

Rep. Bob Inglis (R-SC), Ranking Member of the Subcommittee on Energy and Environment, which oversees the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) and the Department of Energy’s (DOE) Office of Science;

Rep. Adrian Smith (R-NE), Ranking Member of the Subcommittee on Technology and Innovation, which oversees issues related to the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), research at the Department of Transportation (DOT) and the Department of Homeland Security’s Science and Technology Directorate (DHS S&T);

Rep. Paul Broun (R-GA), Ranking Member of the Subcommittee on Investigations and Oversight, which focuses on general oversight of all science-related programs; and 

Rep. Pete Olson (R-TX), Ranking Member of the Subcommittee on Space and Aeronautics, which oversees issues related to the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) and research issues of the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA).

“The Subcommittee Ranking Members will provide strong leadership in advancing policies that promote American competitiveness and ensure the wise use of taxpayer dollars,” Hall said.  “They bring a wealth of expertise and good ideas to the Committee.” 

In addition to Rep. Ehlers’ Subcommittee Ranking Member position, Hall appointed Dr. Ehlers to the position of Vice-Ranking Member of the Full Committee. Hall praised Dr. Ehlers’ work throughout his tenure on the Committee, particularly his steadfast support of research initiatives at NSF and commitment to improving science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) education at all levels.

In order of seniority, the following Members make up the Full Committee’s Republican Caucus: Ranking Member Ralph M. Hall, Texas; F. James Sensenbrenner Jr., Wisconsin; Lamar S. Smith, Texas; Dana Rohrabacher, California; Roscoe G. Bartlett, Maryland; Vice Ranking Member Vernon J. Ehlers, Michigan; Frank D. Lucas, Oklahoma; Judy Biggert, Illinois; W. Todd Akin, Missouri; Randy Neugebauer, Texas; Bob Inglis, South Carolina; Michael T. McCaul, Texas; Mario Diaz-Balart, Florida; Brian Bilbray, California; Adrian Smith, Nebraska; Paul Broun, Georgia; and Pete Olson, Texas.

A complete roster of Subcommittee assignments will be announced at the Committee’s organizational meeting on Wednesday, January 28 at 10:00am in room 2318 of the Rayburn House Office Building.