Subcommittee on Energy and Environment Hearing - The Advanced Geothermal Energy Research and Development Act of 2007, (H.R. 2304) - and - The Marine Renewable Energy Research and Development Act of 2007, (H.R. 2313)

Subcommittee on Energy | 2318 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 | May 17, 2007 10:00am


Dr. Jefferson Tester is the HP Meissner Professor of Chemical Engineering at the

Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Dr. Tester is an internationally recognized expert

in Enhanced Geothermal Systems and he served as chair of the MIT-led panel that

produced the report: The Future of Geothermal Energy, released in January, 2007.

Mr. Paul Thomsen is Public Policy Manager for Ormat Technologies, Inc., a leading

provider of geothermal exploration, development, and power conversion technologies.

Mr. Thomsen is responsible for Ormat’s federal, state and local legislative programs. He

is testifying today on behalf of both Ormat and the Geothermal Energy Association.

Dr. Annette von Jouannne is a Professor in the School of Electrical Engineering and

Computer Science at Oregon State University in Corvallis, Oregon. She specializes in

Energy Systems, including power electronics and power systems, and she leads the Wave

Energy program at OSU.

Mr. Sean O’Neill is President of the Ocean Renewable Energy Coalition (OREC), a

trade association representing the marine renewable energy industry.

Mr. Nathanael Greene is a Sr. Energy Policy Specialist with the Natural Resources

Defense Council. His areas of expertise include utility regulation, renewable energy,

energy taxes and energy efficiency.