Subcommittee on Energy and Environment - Department of Energy Budget Request for Fiscal Year 2009

Subcommittee on Energy | 2318 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 | Mar 5, 2008 10:00am to 12:00pm


Dr. Raymond Orbach is the Under Secretary for Science at DOE, where he
directs the Office of Science, serves as the Secretary’s science policy advisor for
all departmental programs, and oversees DOE’s 17 national laboratories and
education activities.

Mr. C. H. “Bud” Albright Jr., is the Under Secretary of Energy at DOE, where
he oversees the Energy and Environment programs which include research and
development efforts in the offices of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy,
Fossil Energy, Nuclear Energy, Electricity Delivery and Energy Reliability,
among others.

Mr. Mark Gaffigan is an Acting Director in the Government Accountability
Office, Natural Resources and Environment Team, which is responsible for
recently produced reports on DOE funding for advanced energy technologies, the
hydrogen fuel initiative, oil production shortages, and the oil and natural gas
research program.

Dr. Arthur Bienenstock is the President of the American Physical Society,
which tracks funding for basic research at DOE, among other agencies, and has
also produced several reports on applied energy research in recent years. Dr.
Bienenstock is also a Professor of Physics as well as the Special Assistant to the
President for Federal Research Policy at Stanford University.